NeilTullos.com

October 18, 2010

Catalyst Recap

Filed under: Uncategorized — Neil @ 5:04 pm

for more great pictures from Catalyst click here

Last week I attended Catalyst & then spent the weekend at my sisters in Atlanta.  It was my 3rd year in a row to attend Catalyst.  It’s becoming something of a pilgrimage for me.

Catalyst highlights:

  • Andy Stanley – his 1st message was extremely good – a few of my notes from it
    • 3 things to know about our appetities
      1. God created them & sin distorted them
      2. They are never fully & finally satisfied.  Our appetites always want more.
      3. They always tell us NOW & not LATER
    • Reframe your appetite to the bigger picture of what God has called you to do.
  • Daniel Pink – I’ve read some of his ideas before & Drive is now on my must read list.
  • Seth Godin – if you’ve read this blog for very long you know that I’m a big fan of his.  His talk at Catalyst was much of the content from Linchpin
  • Perry Noble – “consultants don’t know jack-crap about what your church needs to do” instead he said to listen to God & do what He says.  If you can explain what’s going on in your church, then it’s not God doing it
  • TD Jakes – can’t believe he wore jeans & a polo.  Also not sure why he had the bodyguards.  Who’s going to take on the Bishop?
  • Gungor – I’d never heard of them before, but I immediately bought Beautiful Things (iTunes link).

One thing that set apart this year from the previous 2 is staying the weekend in Atlanta.  The other 2 years I’ve had to rush back.  This year Amanda drove over & we stayed the weekend at my sisters.  Catalyst gives you so much to process you need a couple of days before jumping back into the grind.

If you couldn’t go this year or you’ve never been I suggest purchasing the Experience Kit.

And what would Catalyst be without someone being shot out of a cannon?

Video from Catalyst of the event:

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

