NeilTullos.com

February 16, 2010

Busy Day Ahead

Filed under: Uncategorized — Neil @ 7:00 am

My schedule is jam packced today.

  • pick-up donuts
  • 7:30 – my weekly Bible study w/ 7th grade guys at Jackson Prep; we are starting a new study on what it means to be a Godly man; today we’ll look at the life of Truett Cathy & James 4:7-10
  • 9:00 pick up Chick-fil-a for a breakfast meeting
  • 9:30 – breakfast meeting w/ the youth ministers who brought groups to Krave; our goal is to get their feedback from this year’s event & talk about plans for next year
  • 10:30 – 3:30 Super Summer (this is a link to last year’s site; the new site will be up in the next few days) meeting; youth ministers from all over Mississippi will gather at Broadmoor to discuss plans for Super Summer this coming July.  If you are a youth minister in MS & not involved in Super Summer you are missing out on the best leadership/discipleship event for your mature students
  • 4:30 depart for Starkville to watch State battle Kentucky; tipoff isn’t until 8:00 so it’ll be a LATE night & short night’s rest
1 Comment »

  1. Here is a quote (book listed at the bottom). This guy really nails it as far as concerning ourselves over numbers, etc. It’s not directly similar to your post but I thought it did fit it in a way…thought I’d leave it for you to read…

    “Let me make a personal confession. This kind of thing has often happened to me in my ministry. Sometimes God has been gracious on a Sunday and I have been conscious of exceptional liberty, and I have been foolish enough to listen to the devil when he says: ‘Now, then, you wait until next Sunday, it is going to be marvelous, there will be even larger congregations.’ And I go into the pulpit the next Sunday and I see a smaller congregation. But then on another occasion I stand in this pulpit laboring, as it were left to myself, preaching badly and utterly weak, and the devil has come and said: ‘There will be nobody there at all next Sunday.’ But thank God, I have found on the following Sunday a larger congregation. That is God’s method of accountancy. You never know. I enter the pulpit in weakness and I end with power. I enter with self-confidence and I am made to feel a fool. It is God’s accountancy. He knows us so much better that we know ourselves. He is always giving us surprises. You never know what He is going to do. His book-keeping is the most romantic think I know of in the whole world.”

    (Martyn Lloyd-Jones, Spiritual Depression, 131)

    Comment by Louis — February 18, 2010 @ 3:34 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

