NeilTullos.com

October 28, 2009

Small Church vs. Big Church

Filed under: Uncategorized — Neil @ 6:00 am

I’ve served in a variety of different size churches.  A church that averaged about 100 & one that averages about 2500.  Lots of differences beyond the # of people.  Each having its on strengths & weaknesses.

One common statement I’ve heard in smaller churches is something like “I like a smaller church because I know everyone.” I think that people in each size church know the same # of people.  In the small church it’s just a higher percentage of the regular attendees.

Seth Godin says

Dunbar postulated that the typical human being can only have 150 friends. One hundred fifty people in the tribe. After that, we just aren’t cognitively organized to handle and track new people easily. That’s why, without external forces, human tribes tend to split in two after they reach this size. It’s why WL Gore limits the size of their offices to 150 (when they grow, they build a whole new building).

To read Seth’s complete blog entry click here.  Click here for the wikipedia article on Dunbar’s #.

It’s interesting topic to me.  Especially, that I’m in a youth ministry that has a weekly attendance of about 250 teens & 350+ that attend at least once per month.  I’m learning how to do ministry where I may not be able to know every teen, parent & youth worker.

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you for the thought provoking post, “Why I Don’t Go to Church Anymore.” The link was auto-generated on my blog, http://www.activefaith.wordpress.com. I invite you to check my post that generated the link, “Make Your Church Smaller.” I’d be interested in your thoughts on it.

    Comment by Stephen Enjaian — October 16, 2010 @ 8:13 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

