NeilTullos.com

October 21, 2009

Directions

Filed under: Uncategorized — Neil @ 6:00 am

A couple of Saturdays ago while I was working in our front yard I noticed a car that was driving as if it didn’t know the location of its destination.  As the older lady (that’s in no way a reference to lady drivers not being good drivers or good w/ directions) approached my home I paused from my yardwork & approached the street.  She rolled down (isn’t it funny that we still use that phrase even though we haven’t rolled down the window in years) her  window to ask for directions.

She was looking for our neighborhood’s clubhouse (by the gift in the front seat I gathered that she had a child’s birthday party to attend).  I gave her the directions (go to the stop sign, turn left).  She paused.  Then replied that she’d tried that already & asked again for directions.

I gave the same simple directions.  She once again said she’d tried that & the clubhouse wasn’t there.  She continued by describing the clubhouse’s appearance & the playground, walking trail, & tennis courts that surround it.  I’m quite familiar w/ our clubhouse.  I have a clear view of it from my back porch.

From where she was parked she could see between my home & my neighbors & see the clubhouse.  I pointed this out to her & once again told her to go to the end of the street & take a left & the street will end at the clubhouse’s doorstep.  She looked.  Saw. And finally agreed w/ me on the clubhouse’s location.

Aren’t we funny.  We ask others for directions/help/advice.  Then tell them why they are wrong or don’t understand.

Isaiah 55:8-9
8
For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

