NeilTullos.com

May 12, 2009

Keys to Creativity #2

Filed under: Youth Ministry — Neil @ 6:45 am

The 2nd key to creativity is getting outside input.

I can remember when I first started in ministry that I didn’t want anyone to help me w/ anything.  I wanted to prove what a good youth minister I was by doing everything myself.  Very foolish, but I sincerely believed that was the best way.

I’ve come a long way, but I still have those tendencies & I’m learning a ton everyday from Mike about building a team & including others in the process.

I’ve used youth committees, online polls, posting questions as my facebook status, student leadership teams, twitter, & email/phone calls to solicit input.  At some point teams/committees can be too big for their own good, but in the planning process (especially early in the process) getting input from a variety of sources is extremely helpful.

In planning out our youth worship services for the ’09-’10 school year I’ve done an online poll, questioned teens & parents about ideas, asked other youth ministers, looked at curriculums from publishers & visited a few other church’s websites to see what they are doing.  I’m combining all of that w/ Bible study series that I’ve been developing over the past year.

Sometime in the next week or so I’ll submit my rough outline for next year’s worship services to Mike & we’ll go from there working together to develop the teaching calendar.

Getting ideas from a variety of people & working way ahead of schedule allows for creativity to develop.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

