NeilTullos.com

April 14, 2009

Final Notices

Filed under: marketing,Youth Ministry — Neil @ 8:50 pm

photoIt seems lately that I’ve seen lots of FINAL NOTICES that aren’t.  They are really just companies lying to consumers in an attempt to scare them (me) into purchasing their product.

In the past year I’d guess I’ve received at least a dozen notices from a car manufacturer offering a FINAL CHANCE to purchase an extended warranty.  How can you send out a final notice every week/month?

I’ve had a SI subscription since 1987 (actually my Dad had it for me until 2002, but I’ve kept the subscription until now).  Last year when Rick stopped writting his columns, I found myself no longer excited to find it in my mailbox each Thursday.  I decided then to end my long time relationship w/ SI.  My last issue will  be the last week of this month, but for the past few months they’ve been telling me that each issue is my last & offering me “gifts” to continue the relationship.  (SI, a really small duffel bag (or a t-shirt where I can’t even pick the size I need) isn’t why I read your magazine – so it won’t get me to continue to my business w/ you.)

Parents are masters of this technique.  If you do that again, you’ll never _____________.

Unfortunately, I can think of too many examples of when I did the same thing (last chance to sign-up for camp! If you don’t call today you won’t be able to participate!).  I wonder if we (churches) stopped offering false final notices if we could change how we are perceived?

What announcements does your church/business/self need to stop?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

