NeilTullos.com

March 15, 2009

Decision Making – Listening

Filed under: Personal — Neil @ 7:40 am

Listening is a part of the prayer process.  However, is not what I/We? think of when we think of prayer so I made it a separate post.

The toughest part of prayer for me is listening.  I have to make myself be quiet when I pray.  To not think is so hard.

I find myself doing this best in the mornings just after reading Scripture or before I begin talking in my prayer time (if I start “talking” to God, I can’t ever stop my mind from wandering/thinking/asking questions).  The other time I’m able to listen to God is as I drive I’ll turn off the radio & just try to be silent & listen.

Listening is difficult work.  Finding a few moments to be still &  allow God to speak is a part of the process of making godly decisions.

I recently read Refuel (click here for my reveiw of it) by Doug Fileds & the simple ideas he mentioned in the book of how to find brief moments during the day to stop & pray were tremendously useful to me during this process.

Psalm 46:10
Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

