NeilTullos.com

March 14, 2009

Decision Making 1 – Prayer

Filed under: Personal — Neil @ 12:42 pm

The past few weeks/months Amanda & I have been agonizing over following God’s leadership.  Seeking God’s direction during major life decisions if nothing else leads to a greater dependancy on Him & helps to teach me how to make wise, godly decisions.

It’s so crazy that I taught 3 weeks on making wise decisions to the teens during this period (I planned the series long before I knew anything about a possible job change to FBCJ.)  I’m not sure how much the teens learned, but I learned a ton teaching on the topic.

For the next few days I’m going to post on how I make decisions.

Prayer

Seeking God’s leadership through prayer is primary in how I make decisions.  Here’s some of the things I pray for:

  • Wisdom – James 1:5 says “ If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.”
  • Guidance – God desires to direct our path & I want to know what His path is for my life
  • Courage – to follow God’s voice once I know where He is leading

Praying Scripture is another way that I prayed through this decision.  The major verse I prayed was Proverbs 3:5-6.  My prayer went something like “Lord, let me trust you w/ all my heart, don’t let me rely on my own understanding.  Let me acknowledge You in every part of this process and make my direction clear as I follow You.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

