NeilTullos.com

February 17, 2009

Book Review – Choosing to Cheat

Filed under: Book Reviews — Neil @ 9:24 am

Last night I finished reading Choosing to Cheat: Who Wins When Family & Work Collide by Andy Stanley.  I loved it for many reasons (not just because it’s short).

What I liked:

  • It’s an autographed copy.  Andy signed it for me at CatalystClick here to see him doing so.
  • It’s reliance on Scripture.  He does an incredible job of telling the story of Daniel throughout the book.  I hate it when “christian books/authors” totally forget about Scripture.
  • I love sermons & as I read it I could hear Andy preaching the material.
  • The stories.  Andy tells lots of stories about himself and friends that he has counseled with over the years.
  • It hit home w/ me.  I like many of you love to work.  I believe God created me to do what I do.  I love what I do & I enjoy doing it.  However, this creates tension.  I too often work.  Andy says towards the end of the book “…doing my work as  unto the Lord and loving my wife as Christ loved the church.”
  • It gives a very practical list of steps to do to bring proper balance to your life.  I’m already working on it.
  • The study guide at the end.  I think this is the 1st time that I’ve actually ever read through the study questions at the back of a book.  These questions were incredible & helped me to process the info.

I highly recommend you reading Choosing to Cheat.  You can buy it by clicking here for Amazon or here from North Point.

I think it’s such a must read that I will send a copy to the 1st 2 people that email me a request for the book.  Email Me.

1 Comment »

  1. I’ve received the 1st 2 requests for the book.

    Comment by Neil — February 17, 2009 @ 10:04 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

