NeilTullos.com

February 2, 2009

LiveLove Notes

Filed under: Youth Ministry — Neil @ 11:00 am

livelovead1

This weekend I attended Student Life’s Conference w/ our youth leadership team.  Student Life gets an “A” as usual from me.  Great drama, worship, speaker, transitions, creative elements, etc.  It was my 1st time to hear Stuart Hall & I’ll be taking teenagers to hear him again.  My notes from the conference:

Session #1
Matthew 5:23-24
God measures are spiritual depth by our relationships with others.
John 13:34-35
Ephesians 4:1-4
– live a life = to the invitation
– our invitation has an unbelievable expectation
– how do we do it?
1. Humble
2. Gentle – self control
– we endure the differences we have with others;
– we love people because of the Love we received
– if we don’t love people who are different from us we’ve lost sight
of our invitation.

Session #2
Because we don’t have Gods perspective loving others doesn’t make sense.
We don’t understand the love we have received.
2 Corinthians 5:17-21
We underestimate Gods ability to love us.
We overestimate our ability to be loved.
I didn’t need improving. I needed to be made new.
If we are in Christ we are new NOT improved.
I never did anything to earn to be made new.
Gods nature consumes our old nature.
God puts His nature in us.
Sum doesn’t make us less acceptable, just less blessable & less capable of loving.
Sin makes us feel less acceptable to God.
Sin has its own consequences.
1 john 4:9

Session #3
Damascus Road Experience – Saul hadn’t been persecuting a “me” but followers of Jesus. Jesus so closely identified himself with the church that He asks Paul why he was persecuting “me.”
1 Corinthians 12:27-31; 13:1
Love is not a spiritual gift, but a fruit of the Spirit.
What is my motivation?
Am I spurred by love?
Am I more concerned with my reputation than the love of Christ?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

