NeilTullos.com

January 27, 2009

The Bible

Filed under: Personal,Youth Ministry — Neil @ 2:27 pm

I’ve been reading through the New Testament each night.  I almost always lean towards teaching out of the New Testament.  I read it much more often than the Old Testament.  I’m just drawn to it more (maybe if Moses had spoken in blue like Jesus did in red that I’d be drawn to it more?).

I have to make myself read the Old Testament rather than the New.

Saturation (group of teens who meet to read the Bible each week) has forced me into the Old Testament.  Last week we read Ruth.  This week it’s Esther.  What amazing stories.

I know the stories, but as I read each I was caught up in the story.

As I was reading through Esther earlier today I got mad at the folks who added the section titles to the text.  It ruins the story.  You read the summary of what’s going to happen before it occurs (think of how mad you are when someone tells you the end of a movie before you see it).  Some books don’t need those titles.  Ruth & Esther are 2 that certainly don’t.  They are GREAT stories.

Take a few minutes and read them for yourself (just don’t read the section titles).

Ruth

Esther

Hebrews 4:12
For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double‑edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

