NeilTullos.com

October 15, 2008

Wednesday Night Reflections

Jr. High

  • Crowd: Right on our average; there were a few 1st time visitors!
  • Music: Thought it was as good as ever. I was away last week & the week before the band was out of town so tonight was very refreshing & a reminder of what a great job they do every week.
  • Game: I (w/ a lot of help from Amanda because my creativity was running on empty this afternoon) made up a game based on deodorant. To set the game up I played this video & then asked some of these questions. Students responded by raising their hands if they were sure (thought the statement was true) & kept their arms down if they weren’t sure (thought it was false). It was fun & a girl won as usual.
  • Talk: The topic was How Do I Know I’m Saved? It was aggravating because some of our kids that have been saved for a while were the ones talking tonight. Very aggravating when trying to present the Gospel. I thought closing w/ the talk of the tension between the flesh & the Spirit captured the group.

Sr. High

  • Crowd: staying in the high 20s! My goal is still to have 30+ but its still showing growth. 1 1st timer & another who was a 1st timer 3 weeks ago & has yet to miss.
  • Music: see above
  • Talk: The topic was How Do I Resist Temptation? God gave me a new perspective during our worship time. I felt Him telling me to tell the group that the reason we resist temptation isn’t just because it’s bad, but because He is so good. The story of Joseph from Genesis 39 is a great example of resisting temptation.

It was good to be back. Last week I was at Catalyst. It was the 1st time that I’ve missed a Wednesday night youth worship service since I’ve been at Parkway. Preparing 2 different talks for the same night w/ no break between the two was a challenge. Preparing 2 different sermons for the same day is tough enough, but this was exhausting.

I think it wore Amanda out as well because she just said “I wish politicians were melons” as we lay in the bed & watch the political garbage.

3 Comments »

  1. I did not say anything about melons. This is just another example of husbands (Neil) not listening to their wives (the voice of reason).

    Comment by Amanda — October 16, 2008 @ 10:08 pm

  2. It looks like I may have to up the dosage of my reading of 2 Timothy 2:12 to Amanda.

    Comment by Neil — October 17, 2008 @ 4:39 pm

  3. Is this my teachers website????

    Comment by Ashleigh — December 4, 2009 @ 9:04 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

